Hello. Is it me you’re looking for?

We live in the age of rapid fire mass communication. It is now easier to get in touch with your friends, family and colleagues than it has ever been before. There are so many different channels of communication, that people can be reached 24 hours a day, anywhere in the world.

But is it really easier to get in touch with people? There are so many different ways to contact people that you now have to think about which way is the most effective or fastest.

You could send me an email, but which email do you send it to? If I am at work then I only check my personal email every few hours. If I am at home, then I have no access to my work email.

You could phone me, but if I am in the office, I won’t always answer my mobile. Why not send me a text? If I am working on something or walking somewhere, chances are I won’t reply for about an hour.

You could write a message or a comment on my Facebook, but sometimes I go a couple of days without checking that.

You could @reply me using Twitter, but if I am not by a computer although I may be Tweeting, I will not be checking my tweets.

If you try sending me a letter, my response time might be up to one week, but I guarantee you will get a handwritten response.

If you try and use MSN, Myspace or Bebo to contact me, you could be waiting up to a couple of months for a reply.

It seems that now we have so many different ways to contact each other, we don’t know which channel will generate the speediest reply.

Your safest bet, if the message is important, is to keep trying all of the above methods until you get a response. Or you could always dispatch a carrier pigeon.

Leave a Reply

